HHS 2020 IASB Awards

HHS Students Win Big
Posted on 03/10/2020


Homestead High School’s Video Program, Homestead Media, finished as TV School of the Year and the radio station, ThePoint 91.1 FM, finished as first runner-up Radio School of the Year against more than 50 other high schools, career centers,and vocational programs throughout the state of Indiana at the annual Indiana Association of School Broadcasters (IASB) awards ceremony on Monday, March 9th at the University of Indianapolis. This is the program’s first-ever video state championship.

On the TV side of the contest, senior Derek Hockemeyer won first place in the category of Cinematography and
Homestead’s in-depth video program, This Is Homestead, won in the category of News Magazine . Second place winners include the weekly news program, HHS In Depth , for School Newscast ; Homestead’s Live Stream Broadcast team in Live Event for the January 25th boys basketball game vs Lawrence North (shown live on YouTube); and junior Ashton Hackman’s news story over Southwest Allen County School’s bus driver shortage in the category of Package. Picking up third place awards were Caleb Wood in the Photojournalism category and Hackman for Live News Anchor , where he performed live in UIndy’s news studio.

On the Radio side of the contest, senior Donnie Harmon won first place in the category of Play-By-Play , while the team of  Harmon, junior Matt Saalfrank, Hackman and sophomore Brayden Carroll won first place for Sporting Event Broadcast. Junior Christina Kruger won first place for Spot Production and sophomores Karlie Flanagan and Cora Shaw won for Radio Show from their after-school show Asking For A Friend that airs every Thursday. Second place winners include Saalfrank for Play-By-Play and Hackman for In-Depth over his audio story about Homestead girls basketball coach battling cancer. Third place winners included Harmon for both Interview and Sportscast and senior Carson Clymer for Live News Anchor, reporting live on UIndy’s radio station, WICR-FM.

Senior Chris Wang also picked up a second place award for Multimedia Website , for his role in creating the all new
WCYT.org website. This category is not tabulated in the Radio or TV School of the Year awards.

The Point 91FM, Allen County’s only high school radio station, has been competing in the IASB state competition since 1999. Homestead won Radio School of the Year in 2017, 2018 and 2019. Homestead’s Television program has been competing at IASB since 2014.

Homestead’s Radio and TV departments have over 100 students enrolled in their program throughout each school day. The programs are directed by Adam Schenkel (2004-present) and the radio station is managed by Andy Dunn
(2013-present). The Point 91FM broadcasts 24 hours a day and is run entirely by student’s throughout the school day and until 4:00PM on weekdays. Students also broadcast Homestead High School extra-curricular events as well as athletics throughout the school year. The 91.1FM website can be found at www.wcyt.org . Students in Homestead’s television broadcasting program create a weekly newscast called HHS In Depth, over news occurring within the school. The show airs to students and staff every Friday during the school day on the Homestead Media YouTube channel. The channel also airs all Homestead High School home football and boys and girls basketball games. The Homestead Media YouTube channel can be found at ww.youtube.com/c/homesteadhighschoolmedia

The IASB conference and awards is a day dedicated for current high school students in the entire state of Indiana. Over 900 students attended the ceremony on the campus of UIndy.

IASB 2020 Awards for Homestead High School


Homestead High School - Runner-Up Radio School of the Year.

First Place
Donnie Harmon, Matt Saalfrank, Brayden Carroll and Ashton Hackman - Sporting Event Broadcast
Donnie Harmon - Play-by-Play
Christina Kruger - Spot Production
Cora Shaw and Karlie Flanagan - Radio Show

Second Place

Matt Saalfrank - Play-By-Play
Ashton Hackman - In-Depth

Third Place
Donnie Harmon - Sportscast
Donnie Harmon - Interview
Carson Clymer - Live News Reporter

Honorable Mention

Tyler Veit - Copywriting
Drew Persinger and Ted Bolton - In-Depth
Drew Persinger - Imaging


Homestead High School - Television School of the Year

First Place

Derek Hockemeyer - Cinematography
This Is Homestead - News Magazine

Second Place

HHS In Depth - School Newscast
Ashton Hackman - Package
Homestead Sports Live Stream - Live Event

Third Place

Caleb Wood - Photojournalism
Ashton Hackman - Live News Anchor

Honorable Mention

Andre Centlivre - Package


Second Place

Chris Wang - Multimedia Website